Breaking News

Minimum Wage Hike Starts Jan. 1

(AP) Hourly wages will go up for Missouri’s low-income workers and taxes will fall for some corporations when the new year arrives.

The state’s minimum wage will go from $7.35 an hour to $7.50 for about 100,000 Missouri workers. The increase is a result of a yearly inflationary adjustment included in a law passed by voters in 2006.

The state’s corporate franchise tax rate also will fall in 2014. That’s the result of a 2011 law passed by legislators that gradually phases out the franchise tax by 2016.

Other new laws taking effect Wednesday are the result of bills passed in 2013. Those include additional health screenings for newborns and new benefit entitlements for workers’ compensation claims stemming from serious illnesses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *